The Royal Medical Society Trust was established in 1980 to manage the Society’s estate. It is a registered charitable body that oversees the legalities and funds of the RMS. The RMS Trust permits the RMS’ educational and social activities, finances the practicalities of running its premises and provides Travel and Study Fund grants to members. The Trust consists of the Chairman, the Treasurer (an ex oficio Council member), the Senior President of the current session and representatives of professional bodies who maintain an interest in the Society’s purpose. The Trustees are assisted at Trust meetings by several advisors as well as the permanent secretaries.



EDDr Edward Duvall, Consultant Pathologist (Olim Praeses)






Paul millsDr Paul Mills, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist (Olim Praeses)





Nominee of the University Court of the University of Edinburgh

Professor Jeremy Hughes, Professor of Experimental Nephrology and Head of Year 3 MBChB





Nominee of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh

Andrew_Sutherland6Mr Andrew Sutherland, Consultant Transplant Surgeon




Nominee of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh

Professor Andy Collier, Consultant Physician and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Ayr Hospital





Co-opted members

FKDr Fanney Kristmundsdottir, Director of MBChB Anatomy Teaching and Dean of Pastoral Care (Medicine)





GFProfessor Gordon Findlater, Professor of Translational Anatomy






Dr Beci Evans, Head of RMS Travel and Study Fund (Olim Praeses)





Senior President

Miss Hannah Patterson